The coolest event on Earth

The 36th edition of the The Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz is upon us once again, and is set to combine spectacular polo with a superb social programme. From 24-26 of January 2020, four elite teams will be competing for the coveted de GRISOGONO Trophy against the backdrop of the magnificent mountains of the Engadine. Many of 2019’s biggest stars will be back in the saddle. Team de GRISOGONO will be co-captained by Zhanna Bandurko and Valery Mishchenko, both from Russia. They will be playing with two of Europe’s leading polo players Robert Strom of France and England’s Max Charlton. Team Azerbaijan Land of Fire – ever the crowd favourite – will once again be captained by Elcin Jamalli. Expectations are running high for many of the big names set to appear, including last year’s winner Melissa Ganzi from the USA, who is leading out Team Badrutt’s Palace. Ganzi, the first woman ever to win the Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz, will be looking to repeat her feats of 2019. Turkey’s Kutlay Yaprak makes his first appearance, leading out the Maserati team. Yaprak has picked Argentine polo ace Adrian Laplacette Jr and the promising Swiss junior Fabio Meier to join forces with him.

“We are proud to be able to stage another top-rate event next year, presenting both social and sporting highlights to our guests and spectators,” says organizer Reto Gaudenzi. “We owe this to our loyal sponsors, partners, and players, and their continued trust in us.” The annual tournament was created in 1985 and was the world’s first snow polo tournament. Held on the frozen Lake St. Moritz on the last weekend of January, the competition is free for the public to watch.


Further information